Grupo Arcano

Grupo Arcano 2
 

In 2008, George Vélez Jr. and his father, George Vélez Sr. founded Grupo Arcano with the aid of Danny Diaz (bass) and Ray Torres. Soon they were joined by the composer and pianist Harold Gutiérrez. As George Vélez Jr. puts it "a bunch of musicians, kind of unknown to the majority of the NYC latin musicians scene“. Thus they really live up to their name Grupo Arcano.

 

Conguero Anthony Almonte, the newest and youngest band member, solidified what Grupo Arcano is all about: Smooth melodies, searing mambos, joyful rhythms and a serious approach of soneando. 

 

The instrumentation is key to its unforgetable sound being created by the brass section comprised of trumpets, trombones and a woodwind section made up of tenor and alto saxophones. The sound is best described by a mixture of Tito Rodriguez and La Sonora Ponceña with a Brooklyn/Queens twist.

 

Being asked about the favorite songs of the latest CD, George Vélez Jr. said: “I love them all, but La Maya or Un Tipo Salao take the cherry for me, musically." Both lyrics are written by his father and La Maya is even sung by himself meanwhile Un Tipo Salao is sung by Anthony. Both singers do an amazing job in the vocals and when they sing their soneos during the chorus sections.

 

‘Desde el otro lado del East River‘ is a highly recommended debut album of young still unknown professional musicians with arrangements that are not too predictable and thus give the dancers a full range of interpretation.

FaLang translation system by Faboba

Upcoming Events

No events

Visit me on

Partners

Grupo Arcano

Grupo Arcano 2
 
Im Jahr 2008 gründete George Vélez Jr. mit seinem Vater die ,Grupo Arcano‘ mit der Hilfe von Danny Diaz (Bass) und Ray Torres (ehemaliger Sänger). Sie wurden von Pianist und Komponist Harold Gutiérrez unterstützt. Die Namen sind für die Mehrheit der New Yorker Latin Musikszene eher unbekannt und so überraschten sie nicht nur einmal mit ihren Konzerten, begeisterten Tänzer mit ihren Arrangements und wurden ihrem Namen ,Grupo Arcano‘ gerecht. 
 
Das jüngste und zugleich neueste Bandmitglied, der Congaspieler und Sänger Anthony Almonte, betont noch einmal wofür Grupo Arcano‘s Sound steht: Eingehende Melodien, treibende Mambosektionen, lebhafte Rhythmen und der traditionelle Gesang der Soneros. 
 
Die Instrumentation ist zugleich der Schlüssel für die unvergessliche Mischung von traditionellem Sound und der frischen Prise aus Brooklyn/Queens. Die Musik lehnt sich an die Altmeister wie Sonora Ponceña oder Tito Rodriguez an ohne diese lediglich zu kopieren und die Arrangements begeistern und überraschen zugleich. 
 
In einem kurzem Interview über ihre Musik wählte George Vélez Jr. La Maya und Un Tipo Salao als zwei Stücke aus, die ihm sehr am Herzen liegen. Die Texte stammen aus der Feder seines Vaters und La Maya singt dieser sogar selbst. Anthony Almonte zeigt bei Un Tipo Salao die Kunst der ,soneos‘ der alten Schule. 
 
‘Desde el otro lado del East River‘ ist ein hervorragendes Debut-Album einer Gruppe talentierter Musiker, deren frische, überraschende Arrangements Tänzer fordern.
FaLang translation system by Faboba

Upcoming Events

Keine Termine

Visit me on

Partners